Hot Hair Tools and Styling Heat Protection Spray! The Lowdown

Hey guys,

So I have started a new YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC26Fe9IjmlU50wIu2g1IZPA) in hair and I just wanted to give you all some information on Hot Hair Tools and Styling Heat Protection Spray here. I’ve been testing out Heat Protection Sprays for a while now and I wanted to give you the lowdown on some of them.

Every day many of us use hot hair tools to style our hair – hair dryers, straighteners, curlers to name a few. It is so important to use a heat protectant spray before as high temperatures can be very damaging on our hair. Although these hot tools can make your hair look very beautiful, they can also make it look like it is in serious need of a 10year masque treatment when the necessary precautions aren’t taken.

One must remember that your hair is made up of cells just like your skin. However, there are no nerve endings in your hair so you don’t feel the burn from hot hair tools that you would if a curler was to touch your skin. But don’t be fooled. Your hair still burns. My top 5 tips for reducing the damage caused by hot hair tools include:

Reduce hot hair tool usage: Without a shadow of a doubt, hot hair tools damage your hair. The more you use them, the more damage they cause. Now if you are a hot hair tool junkie and can’t give up using them altogether, I would suggest using them less frequently. Your hair will thank you in the long run.

Reduce the temperature: Again if you absolutely cannot keep away from hot hair tools I would suggest reducing the temperature when using them. Many tools come with a temperature reading and you can adjust it however you like. I recommend keeping it as low as possible and adjusting it to the thickness and texture of your hair.

Take a break: Just like your skin needs a break from cosmetics every now and again, your hair also needs a break from hot hair tools. When you can and you have no plans to go anywhere, my advice would be to let your hair dry naturally. That way you are giving it much needed rest and relaxation from high temperatures.

Use good quality tools: If hot hair tools are a must in your everyday routine, it is better that you invest in good quality flat irons, curlers etc. You should be looking for styling tools that have different temperature controls and good quality plates.

Use heat protectant spray: Would you walk out in the sun without sunscreen on? No. So why would you directly place a 200-400 degree styling tool on your hair without protection. Just because your hair doesn’t have nerve endings and doesn’t feel the burn, doesn’t mean that the styling tool isn’t doing it any damage. In fact, it is doing it a lot of damage. Heat Protectant Sprays are very important to your hair before using a styling tool. Three of the most recent Heat Protectant Sprays I have bought are: 1) TRESemme Heat Defence, 2) Mark Hill Styling Heat Protection & 3) Aussie Take the Heat.

My favourite out of all of them would have to be the TRESemme spray. This spray has a heat activated complex which basically helps prevent it from damage from blowdryers and styling tools. What I do is I spray it evenly through my hair when it is damp and a while before I’m about to use a styling tool. I really think this is a great spray because besides protecting my hair it also smells really nice. I got this on offer in the supermarket for €3.50. I have also seen them in Superdrug for the price aswell, although they normally retail at about €8.

My next favourite would be the Aussie Take the Heat. This cost me approximately €6 and I have to say that I quite like it. I’m not the biggest fan of the Aussie shampoo and conditioner but I do like this spray. It smells good and I feel that it leaves my hair soft and smooth and protects it from high temperatures. You just spray it evenly through your hair.

And lastly is the Mark Hill Styling Heat Protection. This would be my least favourite out of all. For me the smell isn’t that pleasant as it smells like hairspray. Also the fact that the bottle is multicoloured just makes me feel like the ingredients aren’t that good for my hair. That could be a completely stupid reason to not like the spray, but I just get that impression when I see the bottle. It comes in at around €10 so it isn’t the cheapest of them all either.

Anyway, to sum up. It’s very important to protect our hair from styling tools. With everyday use they will have your hair looking straw like in no time. My advice would be to use them less frequently, at lower temperatures and always always ALWAYS use Heat Protectant Spray.

If any of you are interested, you can head over to my YouTube channel to see some hair tutorials. I’m a newbie to this so there are still only a few videos there, but it’s growing every week.

Hope this post will be of help to some of you.

Chat soon,

Style Yourself Beautiful ❤❤❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

